placeholder

Ras Natango JMIJ

Styles d'art en Jamaïque

La Jamaïque est une muse qui inspire les talents depuis des siècles

Sculpteur, potier ou peintre, la Jamaïque est fière du grand talent de ses artistes. Découvrez ce qui a influencé notre art, et comment nous sommes inspirés par notre île.

En Jamaïque, notre île regorge de couleurs, de falaises de montagnes brumeuses, de fôrets tropicales et d'une mer bleue ciel, et de plus notre peuple aussi reflète cette diversité. Venant de partout dans le monde, avec différentes coutumes, traditions et histoires à raconter, il n'est pas étonnant que nous soyons créatifs dans tout ce que nous faisons. Cela est particulièrement vrai dans notre art.

Nos peintures, sculptures et poteries sont parmi les plus belles des Caraïbes. Comme nous sommes si diversifiés, nos artistes travaillent dans une variété de styles, de modes et de formes, allant de l'académique à l'autodidacte, du surréaliste et du symboliste à l'impressionniste et au social-réaliste. Avec des formes classiques et abstraites influencées par l'Europe et l'Amérique, mariées avec la technique et la couleur de l'Afrique, nos pièces sont vraiment uniques et variées.

Au fil des ans, nous avons produit des artistes de renom, dont nous sommes des plus fiers comme Edna Manley, Albert Huie, Cecil Baugh, Kapo, Alvin Marriot, Dunkley Barrington, David Boxer, Barrington Watson et bien d'autres.

Notre art est partout où vous vous retrournez :  galeries, musées traditionnels, petits kiosques le bord de la route, et  jusqu'aux murs des villes.

Quand vous êtes en Jamaïque, regardez autour et admirez nos oeuvres. Parcourez les galeries, errez dans les rues à la recherche de nouveaux talents et soyez inspirés.

placeholder

Ras Natango JMIJ

Art Styles in Jamaica

jamaica is a muse that has inspired talents for centuries

From sculpture to pottery and painting, Jamaica has some of the most talented artists around. Find out what has influenced our art, and how we’re inspired by our island.

In Jamaica, not only is our island bursting with colour, from the misty mountain cliffs, to the tropical jungles and sky blue sea, but so are our people. Coming from all around the globe, with different customs, traditions and stories to tell, it’s no wonder we are creative in everything we do. This stands true in our art.

Our paintings, sculpture and pottery are amongst the best in the Caribbean. As we are so diverse, our artists work in a variety of styles, modes and forms, ranging from the academic to the self-taught, the surrealist and symbolist to the impressionist and social-realist. With classic and abstract forms influenced by Europe and America, and technique and colour from Africa, our pieces are truly unique and varied.

Over the years, we’ve produced some renowned artists, who we’re most proud of like Edna Manley, Albert Huie, Cecil Baugh, Kapo, Alvin Marriot, Dunkley Barrington, David Boxer, Barrington Watson and many others. 

Our art is everywhere you turn, from traditional galleries and museums, to roadside spots and inner-city walls.

When you’re in Jamaica, just look around and take in our work. Browse the galleries, wander the streets in search of new talent and be inspired. 

Experience Our Art At These Attractions

Harmony Hall Gallery
Promoting excellence in, and broadening the appreciation of Jamaican art and craft was the principal
Olympia Gallery
The Olympia Gallery is centrally located in Kingston, housed in the old Olympia residential complex
Grosvenor Galleries
The Grosvenor Gallery specializes in paintings, drawings, sculpture and ceramics. The works of art